Bitty McLean, The English Musician Who Made Waves in Reggae, Ragga, and Rock Genres

Bitty McLeanz, an English musician known for contributions to reggae, ragga, and rock genres, was born on August 8th, 1972, in Birmingham, United Kingdom. His real name is Delroy Easton McLean, but because of his short height as the youngest of five other siblings, he had a nickname called Bitty, hence is why his stage name is Bitty McLean.

The musician started at a young age as a teen. He worked with local sound systems before joining UB40 as an engineer and producer after studying sound engineering in college. McLean also sang with the band on occasion.

Around the 1990s, he rose to prominence with cover versions of songs such as Dedicated to the One I Love (U.K. No. 6). Another cover version he made was for It Keeps Rainin (Tears from My Eyes) in 1993, a major UK success, peaking at No.2. on British charts. The cover also became highly popular in New Zealand and The Netherlands. McLean also supported UB40, Wet Wet Wet, and Simply Red on three arena tours in the United Kingdom.

In 2004, he released On Bond Street KGN. JA., which showed his singing over vintage Tommy McCook and Duke Reid-produced Treasure Isle rhythms from the rocksteady era, most with new lyrics but also utilizing songs like Walk Away from Love and Make It with You.

In 2007, he recorded Moving On, a studio album with Sly and Robbie in their One Pop studios in Kingston, Jamaica. Moving On was released on the Taxi / Silent River / Mideya label in Europe and the U.S. The JVC label released it in Japan. McLean and Sly & Robbie toured Japan, Europe, and Morocco in 2008 and 2009.

In 2013, McLean released The Taxi Sessions, a new album with Sly & Robbie, who also released a live DVD with Sly & Robbie and the Taxi Gang. They captured the live footage at their concert in Paris in May 2009.

McLean also joined The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra on vocals in 2013 for a performance of Fu Man Chu (a cover performance). He also joined them on stage for numerous performances, appeared in the official video for the single, and sang the song “Later... with Jools Holland” in May 2013.

He released the album Love Restart in 2018. The LP includes six extended mixes of previously unheard music. The CD has the same six tracks plus five additional songs. The six extended mixes from the LP, as well as five more tracks from the CD, are included in the digital edition.


McLean has three singles that made it to the U.K. Top 75s which have been there for fifty weeks, seven singles in the U.K. Top 40s for thirty-three weeks, and three singles in the U.K. Top 10s for eleven weeks. The artist also had one album that made it to the U.K. Top 40s for seven weeks and one album that made it to the U.K Top 75s for eleven weeks.






  • "It Keeps Rainin’ (Tears from My Eyes)" in 1993 (DEBUT)
  • "Pass It On" in 1993
  • "Here I Stand" in 1994
  • "Dedicated to the One I Love" in 1994
  • "What Goes Around" in 1994
  • "Over the River" in 1995
  • “We’ve Only Just Begun" in 1995
  • "Nothing Can Change This Love" in 1995
  • "Natural High" in 1996
  • "She's Alright" in 1996
  • "Walk Away from Love" in 2004
  • "The Real Thing" in 2005
  • "Let Them Talk" in 2006
  • “Got to Let Go" in 2008




  • Just to Let You Know in 1994
  • Natural High in 1995
  • Soul to Soul in 2003
  • On Bond Street KGN. JA. In 2005
  • Made in Jamaica in 2007
  • Movin On in 2009
  • The Taxi Sessions in 2013
  • Love Restart in 2018
Back to blog